The One (Scarf)

You know that feeling when you find the perfect project? You love it. You can find the right yarn. You know it’s the One.Image

Well, this is one of those perfect projects. It’s clever, interesting, and the perfect fit for the recipient (one of my brothers). I used the One Ring Scarf pattern, free on Ravelry. Basically, it’s the inscription from the One Ring (in The Lord of the Rings), double knit in fingering weight yarn. I was knitting from a chart for the first time, and I was surprised at how fun it was! The only problem-it’s VERY long. Which is not a problem for actual wear, but man, it’s long…and I haven’t finished it……even though I started in December. I finished about five out of the six pages of charts in time for Christmas, knitting in secret, and presented the scarf with a promise that it would be completed soon. And now it’s July. (I procrastinate pretty well..)Image

I used orange and blue Red Heart Super Saver. Which is not fingering weight, but I thought I could make it work. After purchasing it, I started in on the scarf right away. After realizing that it was way too thick and wide, and at the size it was knitting up, it would be REALLY, REALLY, REALLY long, my mom volunteered to pull apart the yarn and turn it into two-ply, instead of four-ply. I knit, and she unwound the yarn, replenishing my yarn supply as I ran out. To make it less wide, I skipped ten stitches on each side (working with 30 stitches instead of 50)Image

I’m hoping to finish the last page of graphs this week, or at least by the end of July. I  really like it, and I think it’s been hibernating long enough!

I’ll be back tomorrow with more of the post a day challenge!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

