When Pastimes Collide…

Running Socks |A Changing Assortment…You make running socks! I’ve been running Cross Country and Track since 7th grade, and I’m planning on continuing them as I transition to college this fall. It’s been a wonderful adventure. I’m so grateful for the team I’ve had. We’ve worn suspenders, full body stretched (laying flat on your back and closing your eyes), made ice cream, and held spaghetti eating contests! I’ve never been an athletic person, and it’s kind of surprising that I’ve actually found a sport that I’m good at. (It helps that there’s no hand-eye coordination involved!) The team aspect has been my favorite part. You can’t help but get closer when you run repeat miles together, right? Running Socks |A Changing Assortment

I got a pair of Smartwool running socks for Christmas last year, and they’re the. comfiest. socks. ever. They also don’t smell, even after a sweaty 4 mile run. I can wear them twice before washing, and they’re super thick and cushiony. After experiencing the wonders of wool running socks, I wanted more! But, uhh, Smartwool socks cost $15 dollars a pair. So I made my own wool running socks. And they are so good. I first tried knitting socks at the age of 13,  but for some reason, sock making skills eluded me until last January. I’ve had this sock yarn, Heart and Sole (with aloe!) since my very first attempt. (I also have a few skinny tubes knit up in it that were supposed to become the legs of socks, but no, elasticity evaded me). I searched Ravelry to see if anyone had come up with a good running sock pattern, and among the few patterns available, found the Maizy-Walking in the Maize socks (apparently the suggested yarn is called Maizy, it’s made of corn fiber) which are modeled after athletic socks, with a ribbed band around the arch. I grabbed my yarn and dpns and got knitting!Running Socks |A Changing Assortment These pictures are the socks after one 5 mile run, and one washing. For the first 4 miles they felt fine, but the last mile I started feeling either the texture of the purl stitches or the seam at the toe of the sock. I’m thinking maybe the seam stretched or slipped farther under my foot. I wore them again last night for our church’s annual Adopt-a-Highway ditch clean up, and there were no comfort issues. I forgot I was wearing them, they were so comfortable! I highly recommend the pattern and the yarn. For shorter runs and walking they’re perfect!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “When Pastimes Collide…

  1. These are gorgeous! I’ve actually made a similar pair of socks with that exact same yarn! Love these! ❤

    • Tenley says:

      Thanks! This colorway is so fun, and I was kind of surprised at how nice the yarn was…maybe I have Red Heart bias after using RH Super Saver!

  2. What a great idea. I am a trail runner and would love to make my own colorful running socks!

Leave a Reply

